1952 pan sprocket shaft seal

Bottom End (crankcases and crankshaft)
69camfrk
Inactive member

1952 pan sprocket shaft seal

Post by 69camfrk »

I'm looking for info on replacement of the left side engine case (sprocket) seal. I have it ordered and wondered if any of you have any tips or tricks that I might need to know. I'm running an open primary and it's seeping pretty good. By the way, first post here on this site. I just scored my Panhead this weekend. I've been riding Harley's for 23 years and still have my first one which is a '79 Sportster. My daily ride is an '03 Low Rider. I'll post up some pics and such when I get the time.
mbskeam
Bikes: *

Re: '52 pan sprocket shaft seal

Post by mbskeam »

colony makes a replacement seal that has the steel outer ring and a inner rubber lip type seal. you can replace these with out too much trouble, just a bit of patience and time.....

mbskeam
Cotten
Bikes: -

Post by Cotten »

69camfrk!

Beware that when you install a seal upon the sprocket shaft, the escape for 'sumped' oil is blocked.

If your pump ball check is a sumper (and the mess you describe suggests that), you better ride it very often, or your cases can completely fill.

The symptoms can be leaky cylinder base gaskets, smoking upon hard starting, plug fouling, puking from the breather, and of course: a gooshing noise when you kick it!

....Cotten
69camfrk
Inactive member

Post by 69camfrk »

Cotten wrote:69camfrk!

Beware that when you install a seal upon the sprocket shaft, the escape for 'sumped' oil is blocked.

If your pump ball check is a sumper (and the mess you describe suggests that), you better ride it very often, or your cases can completely fill.

The symptoms can be leaky cylinder base gaskets, smoking upon hard starting, plug fouling, puking from the breather, and of course: a gooshing noise when you kick it!

....Cotten