Bikes: 98 fatboy
65 Pan

transmission ID

Post by gallaecus »

121-35 D 7

is this enough info to identify ?
thanks
RUBONE
Bikes: Multiple H-D, Ducati, BMW, Triumph, BSA,...

Re: transmission ID

Post by RUBONE »

April '47. It should have a vent fitting hole behind the kicker arm area on a raised boss and flats milled on the two ribs under the shifter lever.
gallaecus
65 Pan

Post by gallaecus »

im not too good with loading pics yet. do i need photobucket to copy and paste? can it be a 57 trans? can someone post a pic of what i should be looking for ?
thank you and i will look now for the vent
49bones
Bikes: 1957 FL. Was very original but is now sold.
58 PanShovel

Post by 49bones »

gallaecus wrote:im not too good with loading pics yet. do i need photobucket to copy and paste? can it be a 57 trans? can someone post a pic of what i should be looking for ?
thank you and i will look now for the vent
Hey mate, there is instructions on how to upload a pic, go to the topic Video of my pan on the main pan page and a guys put some details on there. Hope that helps
panhead
Site Admin
Bikes: 1954 FL

Post by panhead »

In the 'How to' section you can find the instruction (and others).
RUBONE

Post by RUBONE »

No, it cannot be a '57 trans. The date codes are different on them and use two digits and no letters. '37 isn't coded, and '67 is E-start, so the only thing left is '47.
gallaecus
65 Pan

Post by gallaecus »

gallaecus
65 Pan

Post by gallaecus »

gallaecus
65 Pan

Post by gallaecus »

RUBONE

Post by RUBONE »

The pictures show features consistent with the '47 dating. The kicker cover is later aftermarket along with the kicker arm. Interesting that it was built with the vented screw when it already had a vent. I suggest closing off the vent in the case and just using the screw (make sure the case is drilled all the way through) as the vent in the case is low enough that in heavy rain or washing the bike water gets into it.
gallaecus
65 Pan

Post by gallaecus »