Belt Issue

Schwee
Bikes: 57 Pan, 42 WLA

Belt Issue

Post by Schwee »

Scratchin my head over this one.
I've been running a belt primary on my 57 rigid for over thirty years. I like it because it doesn't stretch like a chain does; adjust it once and forget about it until it breaks (keep a spare handy).
I did a rebuild last year and used the same old (like new) belt. 11mm, 1 1/2", 99 tooth.
I always check it to make sure it's pretty tight, not a lot of flap. Been OK.
A couple of days ago I noticed that it seemed a little sloppy, went to adjust it, and found the tranny back to the max and still not as tight as I like it.
Puzzled (because they don't stretch), I gabbed my brand new spare, installed it, and found that I couldn't get it tight either. If anything, it seems a little looser than the old one.
Bearings on the motor and tranny are certainly not bad enough to cause this slack.
Any ideas?
john HD
Bikes: '42 WLA X 2, '55FL, '93 Ultra Classic, '91 Fatboy, '97 883, '03 Rokon Trailbreaker, '83 GPz 750.

Re: Belt Issue

Post by john HD »

sprockets worn down?

john
Bigincher
Former member
Bikes: 1941/59 EL
1952 FL
1977 FLH
1994 Fatboy

Post by Bigincher »

After you removed and replaced the motor, was the belt loose then, or did this just happen all of a sudden?
Did you have the tranny out when you did the motor?
Schwee

Post by Schwee »

John,
Sprockets look like new; they've only had belts rub on them.

Big Inch, I had the whole frame stripped down, but the belt seemed normal after the rebuild. However, I did have some frame work done, and perhaps I had to move the tranny almost all the way back to get the proper tightness. But still, it seemed perfect for a year. Also, I've inspected carefully and I don't see any frame integrity issues. With the belt off, both engine and tranny show no slop at all.
Bigincher
Former member
1952 FL
1977 FLH
1994 Fatboy

Post by Bigincher »

You just answered the questions I would've had.