Front end shimmys when slowing down

Chassis, frame, instruments, fenders etc.
Forum rules
Please do not start new topics here, but here: New Panhead and Flathead topics
48Pan
Inactive member

Front end shimmys when slowing down

Post by 48Pan »

My 1948 EL has a shimmy in the Hydra front end when I slow down. I've been told it could be in the fork bushings or in the neck bearings? Anyone had an issue like this that can shed some light? I'm also told there are special tools required to change the bushings is that correct?
Fixman
Inactive member
Bikes: -

Post by Fixman »

I have the same problem with my 57. I recently had it apart, and the bushings and bearings seemed OK, but I am far from an expert. I can make the problem a little less worrisome by putting in a little steering damper. If I have both hands on the bars, the problem is not noticeable, but it shows up when I stick my left hand out to signal a turn. Even though I am pretty sure the fall-away is set properly, it could be that the head bearing nut is not adjusted correctly. Hope someone has a definitive answer for us.

Kent
48Pan
Inactive member

Post by 48Pan »

I've got a damper and it doesn't seem to help much. I agree with two hands it's ok but with the foot clutch and the shift level behind my leg two hands is not happening too often.
PeterRytter
Inactive member

Post by PeterRytter »

Remember to check both the front and the rear wheel bearings, they could cause the problem.
FlatHeadSix
Bikes: '31 VL, '34 VD, '45 WLA, '47 WL, '49 FL, '51 WL, '58 ST (Hummer), '71 GE (Servi)

Post by FlatHeadSix »

48pan

a '48 EL with a Hydra front end? Which bushings are you talking about?
fourthgear
Inactive member

Post by fourthgear »

You may also want to check your front tire also , could be out of balance , loose spokes , low on air ( try a digital air gage to check ),rim bent etc. You will of course have to pull the fork tube/leg assem. to check for play in the leg bushings .