RHS Crankcase on Panheads

Bottom End (crankcases and crankshaft)
spinner
Bikes: 58/55 Mongrel Pan

RHS Crankcase on Panheads

Post by spinner »

Hi Guys,
Can anyone tell me if there is a difference between RHS cases pre-58 pls?
I have a CE generator and it measures 1.81" across the bearing boss.
The hole in my RHS case is 1.95".
I thought the gen was supposed to fit snug into that hole (for 58 and later).
I have a 1958 LHS case, but I have no idea what the RHS case is........
Could it be that someone has fit an earlier model RHS case to this before I bought it?
Any advise really appreciated.
Many thanks and kind regards,
Spinner

RHS Belly # 155-2284
LHS Belly # 157-8722
Panacea
Bikes: 64FL 99FLHR 01FXSTD

Re: RHS Crankcase on Panheads

Post by Panacea »

Hi Spinner, I'm no expert but I would guess your right side to be a 56 with the belly number 155-2284. According to Palmers, the only changes from 55 to 58 were a bigger right main race, the generator bolt holes were enlarged to 5/16, the generator strap was eliminated and the cams bronze bushing was changed to a needle bearing and the top of the rear motor mount area was milled for the two unit voltage regulator. So I looks like the hole size stayed the same...Mike
Speeding Big Twin
Bikes: H-D

Post by Speeding Big Twin »

Spinner, I have no personal experience with a CE generator.

You say you have a 1958 left case but if its 57 BN is 8722 then that seems a bit high to me, even allowing for recorded Harley production figures to be inaccurate and also allowing for the possibility of some early-58 models to have late-57 BNs. Can you confirm that your 57 BN was stamped at the factory? What range is your 58 serial number in and do you know if it was stamped at the factory?