Synthetic oil or not

Lubrication System (oil feed pump and scavenger pump, reservoir, filter, and lines)
1hdrider
Bikes: 1960 pan

Synthetic oil or not

Post by 1hdrider »

Hi all...just did a total top end rebuild on my pan from the jugs up...is it ok to run synthetic oil in her...what are the advantages if any and if so what kind should i use ?...thanks for any input
JR JOHNSON
Bikes: 1941wla,1946el,1947fl,1950fl,1959flh,1972flh,4 twinkies,1 evo

Re: Synthetic oil or not

Post by JR JOHNSON »

you'll be ok,but break it in with plain motor oil,search on this site ,there's a lot of talking on this.the biggest prob is cost to me,but it works better with the temps the bike runs...........with respect.......JR
1hdrider

Post by 1hdrider »

yea thanks JR...i broke it in with the same oil Ive been using in it for the past 35+ years...i googled the question and there was a lot of good and bad like more engine noise...more leaking & oil pump having probs circulating that kind of oil...ya never know what to believe...but i did see mention of a synthetic that was made specifically for harleys...dont know if its for these newer HD's or what...im gonna look in to it...thanks man
panbagger
Bikes: 52 panhead

Post by panbagger »

Amsoil makes a 60 wt synthetic oil just for older bikes. Scott
mr. z
Bikes: Franken pan, '49 frame, '50 FL transmission, S&S cases,cylinders, '46 knuck forks, assigned VIN

Post by mr. z »

I used the Amsoil 60w a few times, its ok, but not great, and certainly not worth the extra cost.

For what it is, $13-$14 a quart just isn't worth it to me. I change my oil and filter every 2500 miles, so for me its a waste of money.
panbagger

Post by panbagger »

yeah your right its not cost effective at 2500 miles, but it made to run at longer intervals than that. Wasn't telling anyone to use it was putting out there, because I know they make it for older bikes.... he was asking if anyone made synthetics for older bikes

APPLICATIONS