Adjusting Sifton Pushrods

Top End (cylinders pushrods etc.)
mcraeav
Inactive member
Bikes: 1962 Panhead

Adjusting Sifton Pushrods

Post by mcraeav »

OK I am going to adjust the Sifton push rods on my 62 and I have never done it before but read the manual and looks easy enough. I have a leaky Lifter Box gasket so when I adjust the push rods, can I just go ahead and remove the rod and the Lifter Box to get at the gasket? I guess that is where the oil leak is coming from that I see toward the back side of the rear Lifter Box?
FlatHeadSix
Bikes: '31 VL, '34 VD, '45 WLA, '47 WL, '49 FL, '51 WL, '58 ST (Hummer), '71 GE (Servi)

Re: Adjusting Sifton Pushrods

Post by FlatHeadSix »

Mark
Before we get into this we need to know exactly what you have under the push rod tubes. Adjustable solid lifters and solid push rods? Solid non-adjustable lifters and adjustable push rods? Hydraulic lifters and adjustable push rods?

And yes, once you remove the push rods you can pull the lifter block and replace the gasket under it.

mike
mcraeav
Inactive member

Post by mcraeav »

They appear to be Sifton solid lifters, not hydraulic and they are aluminum or some material that is not steel. I see that there are cork gaskets at top and bottom; maybe this is where the oil is coming from?
FlatHeadSix
Bikes: '31 VL, '34 VD, '45 WLA, '47 WL, '49 FL, '51 WL, '58 ST (Hummer), '71 GE (Servi)

Post by FlatHeadSix »

leaks from the push rod tubes are common but not hard to fix. If you were going to pull the push rods out anyway to replace the lifter block gasket you should replace the seals for the tubes at the same time, cheap insurance!