Best electronic ignition conversion

All ignition related articles
PaulV
Inactive member

Best electronic ignition conversion

Post by PaulV »

I'm new to the panhead world and wondered what you guys thought was the best system to convert to electronic ignition? Anyone tried the Quickstart 2000?
Plain

Re: Best electronic ignition conversion

Post by Plain »

I am familiar with but have not used the Quick Start 2000. It is one of the drop in modules that replaces the poiint set up in your distributor. Works on six or twelve volt.

The Mallory Unilite is an excellent way to go for an electronic distributor. However, it only works with twelve volts, so you have to have a twelve volt conversion. It is also a complete distributor that replaces your entire original unit. On the '59 and later Pans you will have to pull the front head to get the old distributor out. May be more than you want to do, but the Mallory is a relatively trouble free sweet operating unit.

Plain
57Kicker
Bikes: -

Post by 57Kicker »

What would one of these units be worth? Or should I ask what is the list price?
CHEERS!
kell

Post by kell »

Try http://motorcyclegoodies2.com/frame.htm" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false; click electrical, type "Unilite" in the search box and scroll halfway down the page. $225
mbskeam
Bikes: *

Post by mbskeam »

hello,
try http://www.foghollow.com" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false; for a mallory the price is 205.00. the Ebeyond2000 guy wants 185.00 for his kit.as for pulling the head , well I put my stock dist in mine with out pulling head . just take top off of dist and put flat side of dist base up to head and it should go in, this is not with stock hesds they are std, but I recall doing the same on my 56 heads. mallory also comes apart to do this .

hey kell, I still have the ign. that you sent to me I will put it in soon as I get the time. some family members don't think I spend time with them,you would think 10-15 min is okay.
mbskeam