Setting Timing

All ignition related articles
ccislander
Bikes: '59 FL, '57 FL, '53 Servicar, '48 Chief, '36VD
Other assorted stuff

Setting Timing

Post by ccislander »

I've read a number of posts regarding setting the timing and would like to share a very easy way I've used to set the timing on my bikes for many years. Keep in mind, I'm just a shadetree mechanic, so please, any of the highly knowledgeable guys here let me know if I'm off base.
1. Set the points gap (I use .020)
2. Set the flywheel timing mark in the center of the inspection hole, making sure the front cylinder is on its compression stroke.
3. Set the circuit breaker unit to fully advanced.
4. Loosen the circuit breaker lock nut and rotate the base fully clockwise. Make sure the stud with the control cable stays in the fully advanced position.
5. Turn the ignition key on and slowly rotate the circuit breaker base counter clockwise to the exact spot where the points break open - you'll see a spark and hear the snap at that point.
6. Tighten the lock nut down and you're ready to roll.
I use the same process on a nose cone shovel, locking the points cam down in the fully advanced position.
james
Bikes: 1952 FL
2020 Honda Super Cub

Re: Setting Timing

Post by james »

Not bad, I like using a test light instead of watching the points spark. Test light wire to point side of coil and test light pointer to ground.
Do the same set up as you say and watch the test light. it will tell you exactly when the points open. After you tighten down the timer nut, what happens when you recheck the timing, is it right on? How are you turning over the engine, with the foot pedal or rear wheel in gear?
Jim M
ccislander
Bikes: '59 FL, '57 FL, '53 Servicar, '48 Chief, '36VD
Other assorted stuff

Post by ccislander »

If I have someone in the garage to help, I have him/her turn the motor over by the kick starter. If I'm by myself, I use the rear wheel.