BornFast
Bikes: 62 FL Pan Motor for bobber build
84 Shovel Chop
2010 Sportster Bobber
2011 FXS Kustom

62 FL Mallory Ignition / coil combo???

Post by BornFast »

Hello all...
I'm a forum newbie as I've come into my first Pan motor recently and am getting into my winter build project. That being said, first thing you should know is I mess around on Chops n' Bobs... Restoration ain't my thang. I love vintage bikes but like to customize and add reliability and performance.... And style of course.

At present I'm swapping out a cone Shovel with magneto for the Pan motor but am missing a few things that I need;

Today I purchased a 12 volt generator with attached regulator from Cycle Electric, model DVG 5000L. I ordered the low out-put because I intend on running a vintage horseshoe tank - however haven't decided about an accel battery eliminator or a mini 12volt battery.

I ordered a 12 volt because I am running electronic ignition.

Therefor I also ordered a Mallory model A557 electronic advance ignition distributor.
I intend to run the ignition single fire.

What is a good coil match up?
I was thinking an Accel #140408bk apparently they have a lifetime warranty!?!?!? Is that true? Plus it's basically the same company so thought it a good match???

What is a good spark plug match? They must be resistor type is all I know.
The motor was rebuilt with STD replica heads (not sure if that matters).

Also important can I use a battery eliminator or do I need to get a small 12volt battery to power the coil?

Also does the Cycle Electric generator bolt up or is there an issue with the mounting holes?

Any carbon core plug wires recommendations???

Many thanks.
I'll post pics and update as things move along.
Lastly, I welcome all opinions. Such as "you're moving in the wrong direction" or "yup that'll work good" or anything in between.
awander
Bikes: '52 FL
'64 FLH

Re: 62 FL Mallory Ignition / coil combo???

Post by awander »