Dual point timing

All ignition related articles
Davidb
Bikes: 1961 pan head

Dual point timing

Post by Davidb »

I am luck enough to have dual points on my 61 FLH.

First time timing anything, read extensively about how to time the first cylinder and I am confident in this procedure but the fly wheel that I have does not have a rear timing mark. read the book about the 95885-61 tool to get the cylinder on compression stroke at 7/16" BTDC to adjust the points for the rear cylinder. I do not have the tool and looks like it will be difficult to find.

A couple of questions since I am a newbie at timing

1) How can I determine position of 7/16" BTDC for second (rear) cylinder without this tool. I am worried about the angle and do not know if a straw or pencil will be accurate. without removing the head of course
2) How do you adjust the points on the rear cylinder if the lobe is not in contact with the points after you lock down the timing for the 1st(front) cylinder. It appears that the points for the rear cylinder are fixed and cannot be adjusted or moved around the circumference of the upper timing plate. So if the rear cylinder points are in a fixed position why do you need to set it to the dimension indicated in the manual. Why not just gap the points like the first cylinder when the lobe makes contact

I have not tried to time yet but hope to in the next couple of days or at least get it static timed, for now

Thanks

Davidb
1950Panhead
Bikes: 1950Panhead

Re: Dual point timing

Post by 1950Panhead »

1) How can I determine position of 7/16" BTDC for second (rear) cylinder without this tool. I am worried about the angle and do not know if a straw or pencil will be accurate. without removing the head of course
You Can't.