Anti-seize on exhaust flange bolts

Forum rules
Please do not start new topics here, but here: New Panhead and Flathead topics
Sidecar
Bikes: -

Anti-seize on exhaust flange bolts

Post by Sidecar »

I have never used anti-sieze compound before. I am wondering if it would be a good idea to use it on the studs or bolts that are threaded into the exhaust flange ? ( I'm talking about the shovel style exhaust flange. )
Do you guys use this stuff ?
Are there different grades for high and low temperatures ?
john HD
Bikes: '42 WLA X 2, '55FL, '93 Ultra Classic, '91 Fatboy, '97 883, '03 Rokon Trailbreaker, '83 GPz 750.

Re: Anti-seize on exhaust flange bolts

Post by john HD »

Way good stuff. i use permatex.
There is aluminum and copper style.

john
Cotten

Post by Cotten »

Hell, it's mandatory!

...Cotten
Sidecar

Post by Sidecar »

Cotten, since it's mandatory, as you say, is there a low temp & high temp mixture, or is it one size fits all ?
I just realized I lied earlier. I have used anti-seize on aluminum threads about 15 years ago.
Cotten

Post by Cotten »

I am not aware of different temperature ratings, but there will always be something new on the store shelves.
Somehow, they form a dielectric barrier between the dissimilar metals, thus preventing the bolt from galling the casting threads.
Sparkplugs benefit as well, without insulating their heat transfer.
Many shops just cut to the chase and install inserts, even if the aluminum threads haven't boogered...yet.

....Cotten
hplhd
Bikes: 1998 heritage springer
1959 FLH

Post by hplhd »

always on spark plugs. like cotten said i have never seen dif heat ratings for the gray stuff.
58flh
Former member
Bikes: 1958flh 1969sporty,had a knuckle but sold back to original owner

Post by 58flh »