single or dual exhaust?

Forum rules
Please do not start new topics here, but here: New Panhead and Flathead topics
62wild1

single or dual exhaust?

Post by 62wild1 »

Newbie question: I have been reading the post's and absorbing all the knowledge (trying)within these pages but don't recall seeing anything on exhaust so if I am redundant I apologise. I am new to the old school world and really enjoy the site. Well here it goes....

I purchased a 62 duo-glide and it has a single exhaust and I would like to put a dual setup on it. I see there is a dual, and a dual with crossover. Is there a noticable power gain with the dual setup and which one is recommended? I also wonder about the straight fishtails or going with the baffeled sets. Is there also a recommended company for quality pipes?

Thanks for any help in advance
Cotten
Bikes: -

Post by Cotten »

Do you know of a source of repop "true duals" that are anything like "correct"? Paughcos are one-size-fits-none, and the chrome ain't what she used to be. (Not her fault!)

If you choose the dual 'crossover' system, I suggest that you silversolder a freezeplug into the very bottom of the rear header pipe, where it inserts into the Y pipe, thus truly separating the front and rear.

Anything that adds that much weight to a machine cannot improve performance!
Fishtails are cute, but they mess up the reversion signal that telegraphs back up the pipe to the port. Straights make it worse. Their sound is great,.. if you like obnoxious.

I suggest inspecting generic repops from Tedd, as I was once told they were made by Dennis Corso.
chucktx

Post by chucktx »

hi cotton....what is this"reversion signal that telegraphs back up the pipe to the port" you speak about??? i have never heard of this before.
chucktx

Post by Guest »