Linkert carbs

Linkert related issues
2thread
Bikes: 1958 FLHF Duo Glide
2001 FLHT Standard

Linkert carbs

Post by 2thread »

I'm new to this ,so I hope I'm doing this right.
Can anyone please tell me what you look for in a M-74B Linkert carb to tell if it is worth rebuilding.
I need to replace my carb, and don't want to buy a piece of junk.
I need to know what to look for when I get my hands on one.
FlatHeadSix
Bikes: '31 VL, '34 VD, '45 WLA, '47 WL, '49 FL, '51 WL, '58 ST (Hummer), '71 GE (Servi)

Re: Linkert carbs

Post by FlatHeadSix »

Rule #1: If it has ever been chrome plated forget it, find another one

Look for good solid threads, both internal and external, and broken or repaired ears on both mounting surfaces.

Look for excessive wear in the bore where the throttle and choke plates contact when fully closed, deep grooves are not good.

I'm sure Cotten has a much bigger list to share.

mike
Cotten
Bikes: -

Post by Cotten »

2thread!

The Service Manual covers the basics pretty thoroughly, and your own observations and common sense can take you the rest of the way.

As Mike pointed out,
The most difficult (and expensive) repair operation is required only when the throttledisc has worn an 'eyebrow" groove into the carburetor bore to such extent that it reaches the idle bleeds.
(Illustrated in the attachment; The idle bleed is the dual hole with a slot between, not quite in sight in the photo.)

Replacement of the throttleshaft and bushings at regular intervals prevents this extreme wear. But our forebearers really didn't care that much. Seriously.

So it is best to find a core that has minimal wear.

The repair involves honing the bore to fit an oversized disc, which are not commonly available at this time.
The venturi O.D. must also be enlarged accordingly, however that is part of every thorough rebuild. (The Manual does not address this aspect, as they readily supplied new ones, back in the day.)