pan -shov

Forum rules
Please do not start new topics here, but here: New Panhead and Flathead topics
southernsportster
Inactive member
Bikes: 2003 xlh hugger.

pan -shov

Post by southernsportster »

i'm kinda new to the nos old harleys , my first "harley" is a '03 sportster 883 hugger ,
any how i've been wanting to "build" my own "fl".
My grand dad had a 1948 74 inch pan bobber way back when
and i thought , what the hell i'll build what grand dad had and make it my own .
Question i have is i want electric start and 12 volt , also was thinkin 76 (i know i know an amf bowling harley lower end ) i was thinkin a 76 shovel lower and 48 pan upper , does this sound stupid ? and i am wanting reliability (i know i could go out and buy a new cross bones and get all that , but i want a 48 with 76 shovel lower end and pan upper .... any coments?????????
steinauge
Inactive member
Bikes: 1938U,1949FL,1961FL,1968XL,1979FL ,1958 FL, 1965 BMW,1975 Honda CB750

Re: pan -shov

Post by steinauge »

Simple enough engine to build.48 heads might be a little thin on the ground,why not use any set of panheads you can find? They will all work.If you have the money why not buy a set of STD heads ? They are set up for outside oilers and will remove the only real bit of modification you have to do-IE making up a top end oil feed setup.
Cotten
Bikes: -

Post by Cotten »

SS!

I only cringe at calling it a 'Pan-Shov'.

That's as meaningless as "factory-custom", or the worst of all: "old-school".

It would be a 1976 Panhead, and you will be able to smile when you say it.

...Cotten
southernsportster
Inactive member
Bikes: 2003 xlh hugger.

Post by southernsportster »