top end whine

Forum rules
Please do not start new topics here, but here: New Panhead and Flathead topics
plattd
Inactive member
Bikes: 54 FL

top end whine

Post by plattd »

I've come by a 54 FL chopper with fishtails (loud) but even so I'm hearing an engine whine that's borderline annoying, especially when running slow, like through side streets. Hear it most when off the throttle, but that may just be less competition from the exhaust. When I walk my ears around the bike at idle, the whine seems to be coming from the top end, but I'm wondering what in there could make such a noise at those low RPMs. I'm new to these engines but not to 50s bike engines in general--I'm wondering what kind of noise and how much I can expect. Bike starts well, accelerates well, gear chest looks decent, generator gear has small amount of lash with idler--I dont want to put miles on this thing if the whine indicates a serious problem. Any thoughts welcome, and THANKS.

David
FlatHeadSix
Bikes: '31 VL, '34 VD, '45 WLA, '47 WL, '49 FL, '51 WL, '58 ST (Hummer), '71 GE (Servi)

Re: top end whine

Post by FlatHeadSix »

David,
You already mentioned the most common cause of "whine" in a pan engine: generator gear/idler lash. You can rule this out with one or two easy checks (or both). 1.) Get a mechanics stethascope and place the probe against various places spots around the generator, placing it directly against either of the 2 mounting bolts which go thru the cam cover is most revealing. 2.) loosen all the generator mounting, straps and cam cover bolts, and add or delete shims under the generator, tighten everything up and listen again.

It could also be coming from the generator itself, dry or bad bearing.

let us know what you find

mike
panhead_kicker
Bikes: Pan
FLHP Evo
E-H Super X
Chubble head hack
Servi-car
Topper(s)
Model 64D (Hey its got 3 wheels!)

Post by panhead_kicker »