New Zenith carb- probs outta' the box

Forum rules
Please start new topics here: New Panhead and Flathead topics
59panrider

New Zenith carb- probs outta' the box

Post by 59panrider »

Hello Pan forum: I'm a newbie who's been reading & learning here awhile now.I've searched & cannot find an answer to my problem.So here goes:59 Pan/shovel
just put on a brand new Zenith carb.It is getting gas to it.Everything else is good(timing,spark) yet my brand new carb is bone dry.(internally) I could even see the accelerator pump drip a tiny bit of gas.I do not see any "squirt" when I roll the throttle on. Is the float hung up? Carb came with no instructions other than the 1 page simplified set-up sheet.Thanks
03Roadking
Bikes: 1962 Panhead Scooter

Re: New Zenith carb- probs outta' the box

Post by 03Roadking »

I will give it a try, I have been working on my Bendix for months If you read the post just below yours I had the same problem
You say new in the box or do you mean somebody bought it, tried it on there bike didn't like it and left it on there self for a while and then sold it to you?
It make a difference because if it had gas in it and then it sat on the shelf it should be rebuilt even if it only had fuel in it for a day, once the seals get wet and you put it up on the shelf they start to deteriorate. You can try what I have written and see if it helps.