intake manifold

Forum rules
Please start new topics here: New Panhead and Flathead topics
pan58hd

intake manifold

Post by pan58hd »

Hello All winters here and trying to fix some mickey mouse stuff on my Pan. We'll as I said before my pan is a mutt. I have a 58 with a 48 front head and a 50 rear head. It starts hard, I took the carb off and built a intake leak tester (thanks to cottons directions)and the plummers intake is not leaking(that's releif). My problem I think is someone made a intake to go between the 4 bolt linkhert to an s&s E. Does any body produce a intake for this combo? I'm a machinist by trade so making a new one isn't out of the question but hate to reinvent the wheel. i figure I will just take a s&s o ring manifold and cut and machine up a 4 bolt flange and weld it together for now. My goal is to find a correct set of 58 heads in time just want to get it running for this summer. Thanks SSB
King
Inactive member
Bikes: *

Post by King »

pan58hd

Although ideal, finding a pair of 58 heads especially ones that won't require serious work might be a problem. In my case, refurbishining my 51FL heads will set me back about $1100. So for the time being I have gone with STD heads. You might consider the same. They can be configured to take any intake flange and exhaust connection. You'll be happy with the performance boost also.

My 02

King
pan58head

intake manifold

Post by pan58head »

Thanks for the respnse, The STD are my goal just having a little sticker shock. I just paid $1800.00 foa set of heads for my big block chevy the STD heads just seem alittle steep. I think I'm just going to have to fab up a manifold for now and ride it for the summer. I plan on tearing down to the frame next winter and going through everthing. I wish the money was there this year to tear it apart. If I live to a 120 years old I will still have unfinished projects Later SSB

Post by Guest »