Early 58 pan rear pressed steal brake drum

Forum rules
Please do not start new topics here, but here: New Panhead and Flathead topics
gardy
Bikes: duo-glide Hydra-glide

Early 58 pan rear pressed steal brake drum

Post by gardy »

Are early 58 pressed steals brake drum on rear only made for this model or are they the same as the ones on early models they don't seem to come up on ebay very often ,as that is my only way in Australia of getting original parts any feed back would be greatly appreciated.Do they make after market ones.
58flh
Former member
Bikes: 1958flh 1969sporty,had a knuckle but sold back to original owner

Re: Early 58 pan rear pressed steal brake drum

Post by 58flh »

Try J & P bike parts out of Iowa I believe it was ,I have a 58flh & they have every part you will ever need--The machine work was good And I have to admit its hard to find good chainwheels anymore but the one I got for my motorsproket looked real-good & im a machinist so I can get funny sometimes!. Anyway all my rear brake stuff was perfect from the shoes on up,(Good-Luck).58flh
gardy

Post by gardy »

Thanks for the quick response and have brought parts from J&P before will check their catalog also being a machinist my self I am fussy with what I buy thanks. Steve
old1955
Bikes: 55FLE, 65FL

Post by old1955 »

G'day Gardy,

I'm confused do you mean backing plate or the drum? The backing plate and the drum are a pair.
58-63/64 is one set, 63/64-73 is the other set. I think they increased the width of the shoe a little
Could be confusing if you have one of each from different sets.

No, this type of hydraulic brake don't fit earlier ridged frames, but lots of people have made them fit.
I don't think anyone would fit a mechanical brake to a Duo-Glide, but you never know!!

Cheers
Pete
gardy

Post by gardy »