Panhead weak points or sensible mods etc.

All other topics
Forum rules
Please do not start new topics here, but here: New Panhead and Flathead topics
MartinsFLH
Inactive member
Bikes: 75 FLH 1200

Panhead weak points or sensible mods etc.

Post by MartinsFLH »

Hi, I maybe have chance of a 58 Panhead motor . I have some questions for those sages on Panheads. -
First, I am familiar with Shovel engines and working on them etc. and I know the Pan of course to be very similar but I have no experience of working on one. So -
What points have I to look out for, what are the weak points and what can be trouble and "upgraded?" I hate that word because people use it as in- "upgrading to a stroker"( which to me isn't!). The engine will remain a 74"
Is the original oil pump ok or should it be, ahem, "upgraded"
For instance I hear they are prone to cracked heads? What areas do they crack? Should the valve seats be messed with?
Where exactly should the belly numbers be situated? can you get barrels or good aftermarket ones if need be? Etc. Etc.
What are good mods to do for reliability etc?
Finally as its just motor and box I will need a frame so is the Paughco rigid frame any good? I intend if I got the engine and box to make a nice ridable bobber.
Sorry for all the questions. Martin.
Cotten
Bikes: -

Re: Panhead weak points or sensible mods etc.

Post by Cotten »

Martin!

Many of us seek in earnest hardware that has not been "upgraded".

Maybe we are just sentimental old curmudgeons,
but please remember that these machines did not become legendary for their fragility, but for their durability.

Many of the "upgrades" incorporated by the MOCO itself made them profits, but also shortened the fuse on the bomb.
(Just one example would be the '58 conversion to an inboard cam needle bearing instead of a bushing.)

I caution you to only fix what needs it.
Most "modernization" is already incorporated into the available replacement parts, whether they needed it or not!

....Cotten