50' chopper to bobbber

All other topics
Forum rules
Please do not start new topics here, but here: New Panhead and Flathead topics
aaronc70
Inactive member
Bikes: '49-'50 panhead, 45deg raked and shopper front end (12" over???)

50' chopper to bobbber

Post by aaronc70 »

Hi all, new to this forum, feel free to blast away if I'm not playing by the rules.
Back when I was in college and would come home for the summers my dad and I would go to some rallies, he runs a pawn shop and eventually came across this sweet old pan that was chopped just the way I liked it (completely out of style for the times-circa '96).
chopper1.jpg
chopper1.jpg (54.1 KiB) Viewed 893 times
It was dangerous as hell- the linkage holding the back breaks would come undone now and again, and since there was no front brake, I had to use my feet (not to mention I lost parts and found plugs all over the place)- anyways it was lots of fun and I survived. When I graduated and went into the Navy the bike was stored for years until I moved back closer to home, after three years of new kids and pregnant wife, job, reserves blah, blah, blah, I'm finally eying the old pan for daily/weekend rider.

I'm over the raked front end however and want to make it look closer to something like this:
5inrake4inoverforktubesjpg.jpg
5inrake4inoverforktubesjpg.jpg (179.19 KiB) Viewed 893 times
Preferably with front and rear disk brakes..drums may be acceptable though

I got to measuring and reading up on chop geometry, rake & trails, etc and found out that the bike has a rake of approx 50 deg, unweighted trail of 5.25" and weighted trail of 7.25+"!! The long forks really flex when the wheels are on the ground. I've come across that the ideal trail is between 4 - 6.5" so that probably explains the "challenging" handling of the bike in parking lots and such.
<br>
Here are some reference pics of the bike and me measuring, etc:
2011-08-07_20-52-48_287.jpg
2011-08-07_20-52-48_287.jpg (66.26 KiB) Viewed 893 times