Back issues and a rigid frame

All other topics
Forum rules
Please do not start new topics here, but here: New Panhead and Flathead topics
55FL
Bikes: '55 fl

Back issues and a rigid frame

Post by 55FL »

Just had back surgery on my lower back. Laminectomy on l3-4 and l4-5 along with a discetomy on my l4-5. Bottom line is the doc roto-rooterd my spinal column to take presseure off of the nerves and removed some bone fragments that were impinginging on my lower back.

Anyone else have back surgery and how it affected your ride.

I currently have my pan in a '56 rigid frame that I've been running since 1979. I went to a sprung solo seat about two years ago. i really don't don't want to go to a swingarm frame but am concerned. Do the kidney belts help? Does the air shock solo seat system really help out?

Am I condemed to a swingarm frame?

By the way see the doc Friday 10/30
concrete guy

Re: Back issues and a rigid frame

Post by concrete guy »

Sorry to hear about your back. Been in the trades for 30 years and I am laying on the couch now with a roached back. I walk like I'm 80 somedays. I have a 56 with a pog solo seat and some roads can give me a good beatin. I need a heavier spring pack. The short wheel base on this things realy seem to accenuate the rough ride. On the the other hand I have a 9' long chop with air bags that actually treats my back a lot nicer. I do like my air bags. I road my friends Tour Glide and have to say my chop takes bumps better. Guess your doctor is going to give you his thoughts also.
john HD
Bikes: '42 WLA X 2, '55FL, '93 Ultra Classic, '91 Fatboy, '97 883, '03 Rokon Trailbreaker, '83 GPz 750.

Post by john HD »

how about tires? air pressure?

big full size tires at the factory air pressure might help your ride.

avon safety milage tires are my current favorites for ride height and the cushion effect.

john
FlatHeadSix
Bikes: '31 VL, '34 VD, '45 WLA, '47 WL, '49 FL, '51 WL, '58 ST (Hummer), '71 GE (Servi)

Post by FlatHeadSix »