Buying a Panhead

All other topics
Forum rules
Please do not start new topics here, but here: New Panhead and Flathead topics
BigGerman

Buying a Panhead

Post by BigGerman »

Hi folks,

i am a guy from Germany, Europe. I found your page on my way thru the internet searching for information about panheads in general.
I am interested in a ´58 Panhead at my local dealer, but i am not sure if it is the right thing for me. Right now i have ´95 Evolution. But as you probably know it isn´t the ultimate kick.
My problem is that i am not a good mechanic at all. Actually i´ve got not much experience with fixing an engine. But im willing to learn.
I would be interested in your experience about panheads and if a guy like me should even think about buying a panhead!???
Im looking forward for your answers!

Thanks Ron
Ente

Re: Buying a Panhead

Post by Ente »

Hi BIG...
It depends of what you meen with 'not a good mechanic', you DO NEED to be practical and average technical logical, but since you will not deal with specially hi-tech stuff, 'a good mechanic' in modern way is not necessary. And you WILL learn. But a good start is to read lots of posts here and feel what it's all about.
brds Ente/Sweden
panhead
Site Admin
Bikes: 1954 FL

Post by panhead »

Buy some good books (like Bruce Palmer). Do you have Harley riding friends? Is your local dealer willing to help or only interested in selling?
dirtydistrict
Bikes: 2010 road king at the moment. Won't last long

Post by dirtydistrict »

Post by dirtydistrict