Obtaining a title on a home built replica bike in Florida

All other topics
Forum rules
Please do not start new topics here, but here: New Panhead and Flathead topics
EasyDuz'er

Obtaining a title on a home built replica bike in Florida

Post by EasyDuz'er »

Does anyone have any experience trying to obtain a title on a home built replica bike or any other bike for that matter in Florida. There is a custom chopper manufacturer in my home town so I assume it is possible but I have no experience in the matter.

Take it,

EZ
EasyDuz'er

Post by EasyDuz'er »

I obtained a copy of the Florida title application form. The form appears to offer several choices for obtaining a title for a home built bike. The form has a choice for "replica" and for "assembled from parts". Either one would apply. The form also asks you to put a V.I.N. or serial number for the vehicle on the form. Does the V-Twin Wishbone Frame of the Panhead Replica Motor come with a serial number stamped on them? If not, what do I do stamp my own serial number on the frame or case? What have others done for a VIN or serial number. Any ideas? I know I could obtain a title for an older motor but that is not what I am doing, I am going all new replica.

Take it,

EZ :?:
VintageTwin
Bikes: '46 Knuck. '57 Panhead, '59 Panhead

Post by VintageTwin »

I don't know where the vin # is on the replicas motor. On the STD cases the numbers are stamped below the relay boss, well actually, where the relay boss should be, but isn't, on the early STD Panhead cases. Like 10 digits maybe. The Replica cases from V-Twin have a blank number boss like the OE number boss, but probably the real vin # is on the right-side case. You should ask your state if you can stamp bogus I.D numbers for fake in that blank area since the right case has the real numbers. There'll no problem registering your machine as long as you bring your stack of receipts to the inspection people.