pogo seat question

davethefuelguy
Inactive member
Bikes: 04 Ultra
04 Custom Bagger
58 Panhead

pogo seat question

Post by davethefuelguy »

I am new to the panhead thing and have a question. I recently bought a 58 panhead with an older hardtail frame. I also got the original swing arm frame with the deal. I didn't like the seat that was on it so I ordered the pogo seat setup. When I tried to install it, it wont go in the frame. It looks like there is a sleeve in the tube starting 10 inches from the top (seat bushing). It does fit perfectly in the swing arm frame. Has anyone ever seen this or can you explain this to me? Thanks. I'm sure I'll have more questions in the future.
FlatHeadSix
Bikes: '31 VL, '34 VD, '45 WLA, '47 WL, '49 FL, '51 WL, '58 ST (Hummer), '71 GE (Servi)

Re: pogo seat question

Post by FlatHeadSix »

Fuel guy,
Are you sure its a sleeve? It could be the remains of an old pogo stick that is rusted tight and stuck in the frame tube and was sawn off flush with the top of frame.

Clean the top of it real good, you might try running a big flat file flush across the top surface or use a flat sanding block to see if there are 2 different types of metal in there. The seat bushing is bronze or brass and the smaller diameter old pogo shaft inside it will be steel.

If you poke around a little deeper with a long piece of thin welding rod or something, maybe with a short pointed hook bent on the end of it, I'll bet you will find the rest of the old pogo stick stuck way down in there, the springs and things.

If there is an ancient pogo stick rusted inside that frame tube you can dig them out, but it ain't easy!

good luck,

mike
panz4ever
Bikes: EL, FXE & FLH

Post by panz4ever »

The proper amount of heat does wonders to relieve metal to metal parts that should not be. Had to do that on mt 49 because the seat post was stuck in the frame...more like rusted in place.
mbskeam
Bikes: *

Post by mbskeam »