Thru tank gas shutoff

papanhead49
Bikes: 1949 FL
2002 fxdl

Thru tank gas shutoff

Post by papanhead49 »

I'm rebuilding my dad's 49 fl. I can't find a picture of where the spring goes on the shutoff rod. Does the spring go under the cap that you screw to turn the gas on and off or does it go inside the tank. I'm new at this so I'm pretty green :mrgreen: but trying my best.
FlatHeadSix
Bikes: '31 VL, '34 VD, '45 WLA, '47 WL, '49 FL, '51 WL, '58 ST (Hummer), '71 GE (Servi)

Re: Thru tank gas shutoff

Post by FlatHeadSix »

On top of the tank, between the brass screw on cap, and the rubber washer. It just keeps the washer tight.
Mike
steve_wood
Bikes: 56 FLH, 2007 FLHRCI

Post by steve_wood »

It actually goes underneath the cap that screws onto the gas tank. This is the cap that's under the cap you turn to shut on/off the gas.

It goes like this from the top down:

- Cap
- Spring
- Washer
- Seal
- Gas tank

Hope this helps. You can see the pictures in the parts manual for OHV, WL and servi-cars up to 1957. There's also a good picture of it in Clymer's on page 298.

steve
FlatHeadSix
Bikes: '31 VL, '34 VD, '45 WLA, '47 WL, '49 FL, '51 WL, '58 ST (Hummer), '71 GE (Servi)

Post by FlatHeadSix »

how about a picture? this is from the WL parts manual so it shows the old part numbers but the parts are the same and so is the order of assembly

mike
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
FlatHeadSix

Post by FlatHeadSix »

papanhead49