Clutch hub and shell

PanRider
Bikes: 1962 Duo-Glide Panhead
2005 Road King Classic

Clutch hub and shell

Post by PanRider »

I'm tearing my 62 pan down. It has a belt drive. I've never worked with a belt drive before. I've removed the clutch hub and the shell remains attached. I see there is a retainer inside the hub I'm guesses is holding them together. I don't want to break anything. How do I remove the plastic retainer to get the hub apart from the shell?
Panacea
Bikes: 64FL 99FLHR 01FXSTD

Re: Clutch hub and shell

Post by Panacea »

some hubs have three small "C" clips on the studs, others have three small coil springs.
PanRider
2005 Road King Classic

Post by PanRider »

OK. I see the c clips. They are tiny. I'll see if I can get them off. By taking them off I'm assuming the black retainer will then come off. Hard to see how that works but will give it a shot. Here's a pic of what I have.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
james
Bikes: 1952 FL
2020 Honda Super Cub

Post by james »

You can pull the clutch basket off the hub to get access to the clips. The retainer keeps the roller bearing cage on the hub.
Wonder if that's one of those clutch "Tamers", usually the retainer is metal.

Jim
hplhd
Bikes: 1998 heritage springer
1959 FLH

Post by hplhd »

panrider, i pulle mined (c clips) off with a little dental pick. i found some at like ace hardware or tractor supply to replace them.
PanRider
2005 Road King Classic

Post by PanRider »