Clutch, Kicker or Clutch Control Problem?!?!

Rib423
Bikes: '54 Panhead & '49 Flathead

Clutch, Kicker or Clutch Control Problem?!?!

Post by Rib423 »

Hi. This is my second post and I'm new to Pans. I've got a '54 Pan in what I think is a '58 frame. My first post I was askin about tightening the drive chain and thanks to everyone's help, I got that done (primary chain first!). Before I tightened the chains, the two rides I had on the bike (just got it a month ago) the second ride I noticed the clutch cable not disengaging properly. So, since the manuel (I ditched the Clymer and downloaded the two that were recommended) said to check and possibly adjust the clutch control, I did that. Not sure I did it correctly cause it seems to have the same problem as before. Once you pull the handclutch, it doesn't disengage unless you do it manuelely to the mousetrap.

Before I did all this, when I'd go to start the bike the kicker sometimes had a lot of resistance on the way down then other times it would go down too easy and make a clicking sound at the bottom. Now it's doing both those things more than it kicks down like it's suppose to on a good compression kick. It always ratchets back up though.

I think i might have two separate problems, one being the shifter adjustment and two, could I have helped mess up a previous problem with the kicker when I moved the tranny adjusting the primary chain?? I see there's a ton of info on both topics, I just need to know if I should dig into the kicker too?? I didn't mess with the push rod adusting screw, etc cause the clutch lever distance from the foot shifter housing was correct. I don't need to dig into that do I? Help! I took the day off to wrench on the bike and have hardly gotten anywhere!
jdpan
Bikes: 1952 Custom swingarm panhead

Re: Clutch, Kicker or Clutch Control Problem?!?!

Post by jdpan »