Bikes: 1953 FLE Panhead
1960 FLH Panhead
1979 FXE Shovel
2001 Heritage "Twinkie"

4 Speed main seal question

Post by Dave_R »

Hi Guys,

'53 pan with a '57 casting tranny.

I have been fighting against tranny leaks for quite a few years now. It looks that I got most of them plugged. The question I have is regarding the main seal.

I got hold of a Jims dual-lip seal thinking this would be better. Two years ago, following the instructions, I pressed in the seal with a cork behind it, but when trying to get it below the lip of the case by 0.050" I "warped" it inward. I ran it like this for the season, and it dripped a little.

So, last year I pulled it, and pressed in another cork and seal, only this time I was careful not to "warp" it. That seal went just about flush with the case. So I ran that last season. As the season went on, the leak rate increased to where it leaves a softball sized mark now.

So, here I am this year, with it torn down again. The seal's lip is torn off by the little key in the spline. It looks that if I leave the cork out, then the seal will go in below the case by the 0.050" I need.

Why is that cork there in the first place? I was trying to understand why that was there.

Can I leave it out?

Thanks for any advise!!

- Dave
Bosheff
Bikes: 65 FLH 82 FLH

Re: 4 Speed main seal question

Post by Bosheff »