Inactive member
Bikes: 1954 FL Panhead
1976 Sporty
1983 FXRT Shovelhead
2000 FLHT TC
2008 Anniversary Ultra

trans oil

Post by LittleAl »

with due diligence I looked in the KB but the few threads there don't seem to end conclusively

what oil for the tranny on my '54?

seems motor oil is the choice rather then gear oil
I'd like to use HD semi-synthetic sport trans oil, I use it in all my other bikes and buy a case at a time, I'm sure it's fine but wanted to check with you guys
in my motor I'm running a name brand 20-50 I got cheap at Wallmart (I think it's Valvoline) in gallon containers

so what's the concenses on the stuff I have "in stock" lol?
steinauge
Inactive member
Bikes: 1938U,1949FL,1961FL,1968XL,1979FL ,1958 FL, 1965 BMW,1975 Honda CB750

Re: trans oil

Post by steinauge »

You can be sure the semi synthetic will do a good job AND find every imaginable means of egress from your transmission!That stuff is slippery! As far as 20-50 in a panhead I have no experience with it.I use Valvoline 70 wt,Kendall 70 wt or Shell rotella 50 depending on what I can get.I dont suppose it will harm it to use a multigrade. Maybe one of the more modern guys can help out here?
LittleAl
Inactive member
1976 Sporty
1983 FXRT Shovelhead
2000 FLHT TC
2008 Anniversary Ultra

Post by LittleAl »

I've always believed that to be totally a myth.

I use semi-syn in my other tranny's (tc's & shovel) and full syn in my motors and with seals/gaskets in good shape they haven't, nor should they, leak.

I fully expect to switch to full syn 20-50 in my Pan too, after she's broken in and fully expect her not to leak also, as long as I've done a decent job when I redid the motor.
Panacea
Bikes: 64FL 99FLHR 01FXSTD

Post by Panacea »