Transmission primary kit or parts

cmashark

Transmission primary kit or parts

Post by cmashark »

i am new to the forum and the panhead world....i recently bought a 61 panhead project without a trans. i do have a new revtech 6 speed trans for a softtail for the 90-99years. does anybody know of a company that makes a primary kit or parts for this combo?

chris
Fast Ed 53
Inactive member
Bikes: -

Re: Transmission primary kit or parts

Post by Fast Ed 53 »

I would like to install a 6 speed on my 53 but I studied it for a while and really could not find a way to do this easily with my combination. Hang in there and somebody will come thru with a answer of some sort. Ed
PhilB

Post by PhilB »

Hey man! I did this conversion with a 5-spd and a tin primary. I used a TechCycle kit (they are in Philly, PA) and it is a difficult conversion. I think it was worth it, but you will have to be creative in how you mount your trans as it will keep moving. I have a 90" S & S pan and I have had to have some creative fabrication to keep the trans in one spot! If you run an open belt drive it is no big deal, but if try to use the tins, you will need to modify the tins and rechrome them. If you are using a rigid frame, I doubt you will need 6 gears cuse by the time you get to 75 mph you will be seeing double anyway!
Bud

Post by Bud »

Man, if you're vibrating bad enough to see double at 75mph. You better check your motor mounts & driveline.
Something's not right.
cmashark

Post by cmashark »