Tranny rebuild advice

dirtydave

Tranny rebuild advice

Post by dirtydave »

Need some advise on rebuilding a 4 speed tranny.this does not look hard to do can a regular mechanicly inclined rider do this?how much should a rebuild cost? do i need any special tools?yea i have the manual just started to look in the tranny rebuild parts.just thought i would get some good advise from experts.any ideas will help.
56panman
Bikes: 56 flh in 58-64 frame
92 flhtc

Re: Tranny rebuild

Post by 56panman »

Hey DirtyDave, I'm by no means an expert but there are plenty of guys around here who are and I'm sure they'll chime in here shortly. Losts of old posts on this subject as well.

I did rebuild my first 4speed tranny last year. It's not a tough job and you should be able to do it. Just take your time and document things as you dis-assemble. A digital camera really helps.

As far as the cost it will depend on what needs to be replaced. I put in a speedo gear,new 3rd gear and bushing and replaced all the needle bearing for under $200.00. I say go for it.-Steve
57pan
Inactive member
Bikes: -

Post by 57pan »

I rebuilt mine a couple of winters ago. I put in a complete new gearset (RevTech). I did all the work myself except for:

1) it needed a new main bearing race so I had a local shop put that in and line-hone it to fit the new roller bearings/shaft.
2) I brought it back the shop after I had it all put back together to have them align the shifter forks

I second 56panman's suggestion about using a digital camera - take pictures of everything!

Here's a link to my rebuild http://www.57panhead.com/ProgRept2-1.htm" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;.
dirtydave

Post by dirtydave »