1954 straight downtube frame questions

Identification information of frames and transmissions
Bob Farr
Inactive member
Bikes: 1954 FL

1954 straight downtube frame questions

Post by Bob Farr »

I've been riding Haleys ('74 FLH my newest) for a while but I'm new to Panheads. I recently acquired a 1954 FL, VIN number 54FL4978, from the PO who had it since '66. It has a straight-downtube frame, with production numbers "4D" stamped in the upper engine mount. My frame has the inverted "U" tool box mount and "XE-35F" cast into the headstock on the primary side. I've read that these were late-'54 production. Can anyone tell me how many of the straight-downtube frames were made in '54? How about the VIN range for these frames in '54, or the last VIN for '54FL's? Here are a few pictures:
Frame1.jpg
Frame4.jpg
Frame2.jpg
Frame5.jpg
Here's a little curiosity which I haven't seen mentioned yet. On the top of the seatpost casting, to the right of the post, is stamped "18122." Does this have any production significance? Was it added post-production by an end-user (perhaps a muncipality) for some reason? Picture:
Frame7.jpg
Thanks in advance for your help. I'll have a lot to learn about Pans during this restoration and I appreciate your input. Yes, I will order the usual books.

Bob Farr
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Bob Farr
Inactive member

Re: 1954 straight downtube frame questions

Post by Bob Farr »

BTW, here's what it looked like a few years ago, before the owner's grandson disassembled it for some work. I have everything pictured but it's broken down to the bare frame now and stored in boxes.

Bob Farr
54Panfirstday3.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
RUBONE
Bikes: Multiple H-D, Ducati, BMW, Triumph, BSA,...

Post by RUBONE »