Finally a cure for the Panhead leaking transmission

Description: leaking transmission solution

Author: saddlebagrail
Date: Fri Mar 29, 2013 9:53 pm
Views: 1984
Category: Projects

Link to article (bb-code [URL]): Copy

[url=https://www.hydra-glide.net/phpBB3/knowledgebase/article?k=70]Finally a cure for the Panhead leaking transmission[/url]

Direct link: Copy

https://www.hydra-glide.net/phpBB3/knowledgebase/article?k=70

by saddlebagrail » Fri Mar 29, 2013 8:53 pm

Hi Everyone

I am new here and I am starting this new thread on this Panhead forum ,I will talk about the famous 4 speed tranny made by Harley long ago,those type of tranny are almost industructible but have a problem they often leak to the ground.

With this thread I think I am going to show you, that those tranny can also be leak free.

I have been doing this modification for over 15 years now with a lot of satisfied customers,and I feel it might interest many of you....

I will start this new thread with...

Where is the main leaks on those 4 speed tranny occur?

Main leaks occur on the drive side,from either the end seal of the fourth gear,or between the spacer and the gear itself,and sometime both,cause by different thing,the main seal that run over the spacer almost never leak unless the outside of the spacer show some wear on it,and if you use a good seal it is normally leak free.

I have made many modifications on them over the years and finally came up with a nice solution for those of you who are tired of having a spot of oil on the garage floor or elsewhere,when I say a spot it might be more....

This modification to me is not a band aid solution,this is a real solution.