Case exploded! This can't be good

Bottom End (crankcases and crankshaft)
Snake33
Inactive member

Case exploded! This can't be good

Post by Snake33 »

This is a sad tale. Here's what happened.......I was enjoying a nice Sunday ride. Going about 50 mph. Out of nowhere I here a huge clank bang clank clank from the engine. That was clue #1 that things were bad. I quickly pulled off the road. When I looked down I saw a huge puddle of oil growing under my bike, clue #2. I got off and peeked at the engine..just a quick glance as I prayed...hmmm...the right engine case is shattered into several pieces, clue #3. I'm no expert, but I pretty much have it figured out now that I'm screwed. I Took it home, hid it in the garage and then went to work. Now I'm wondering, how screwed am I?
Initial questions for the experts are:
-what happened and why?
-can or should the case(s) be repaired?
-if so, who should I have do it?
-knowing that I have to completely disassemble the engine to fix this...what other problems or fixes should I plan on doing while I have it apart?

I am sure I will have a million more questions as I go through this...any help or suggestions will be greatly appreciated!

............I sure wish I lived near Cotton
panomania
Inactive member

Re: Case exploded! This can't be good

Post by panomania »

not sure how and why, but whatever you do dont send your stuff to dragon man in colorado for repair.
what year model?
Jack_Hester
Inactive member

Post by Jack_Hester »

Snake -