Shovel left case mated to a pan right side case

Bottom End (crankcases and crankshaft)
72Rick

Shovel left case mated to a pan right side case

Post by 72Rick »

I'm new to the board. You guys have a great thing going here, I hope I can be an asset. Now a question...I have a '60 pan right side case. Can it be mated to a shovel left side case? This would allow the alternator to be used, as well as electric start, and shovel left sides are easier to come by than pans. If so, what years will match? If not, is there a source for pan lefts? I know that Cal-Products used to make them, but not any more. I need to get a pan on the road. I've been screwing around for 25 years, it's time to move. Thanks!
65flh5326
Bikes: -

Re: Shovel left case

Post by 65flh5326 »

Yes it can be done, however the same problems may be encountered when using any mismatched cases.
Cases are machined in matched pairs when new. Sometimes there can be a severe shift on the main bearing bores and the right case bearing may have to be relocated, so as the case lapping tool will be able to clean up the right case bearing.
Jims makes an oversize right case bearing that can for the most part help.
Also the cylinder mount surfaces may need to be cut true to each other.
Here is the machine I use for these purposes. Jig Borer.
http://www.clubchopper.com/photopost/sh ... 500&page=3" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
72Rick

Post by 72Rick »