Oil leak questions

Lubrication System (oil feed pump and scavenger pump, reservoir, filter, and lines)
63panhead

Oil leak questions

Post by 63panhead »

Hello. I've been following this forum for a while and just joined. Drinks on me!!! I recently bought a '63 panhead chopper/bobber. Its basically one of the pimp daddy kits but has a '63 motor and trans. Its titled '63 HD and I was able to pick it up finished for much less than the cost of the kit. I have another bike that I wrench on a little but I'm new to panheads. I am going to buy a service manual (best one?) but still have a lot of questions.

I understand that the oil leaks are common. Mine pukes a lot of oil out around the front sprocket when cold. I have the primary outer cover off and plan to remove the inner (new clutch/belt installed). I would like to decrease the puking as much as possible. I checked that the vent tube was clear. Is there anything else I can do to cut down on the amount of oil leaking out?

Thanks for any answers.
57pan
Inactive member
Bikes: -

Re: Oil leak questions

Post by 57pan »

Service manual: definitely get the H-D manual, but I would recommend the Clymer manual too. I know a lot of guys really look down on Clymer but I have found that sometimes the H-D manual explains things better and sometimes the Clymer does a better job - then again sometimes you need both of them in combination in order to figure out what's going on. Also, the Clymer manual is directed a little more to the do-it-yourself guy who doesn't have a shop full of special H-D tools.

Also, get the Service Parts manual.

That should do for starters.