correct cylinders and heads for a 53 bottom end

Top End (cylinders pushrods etc.)
jamilgallo
Bikes: 1942 UL

correct cylinders and heads for a 53 bottom end

Post by jamilgallo »

Need some help folks, i've been visiting this board for quite awhile now but it's my first time writing in.
I'm new to panheads and i'm starting pan project, in fact i'ts a 1953 panhead bottom end.
I need to know what cylinders and heads can be used with this crankcase. I just read on palmer's book about the three styles of cylinders, 48-52, 53-62 and 62-65, basically different oil passage configurations, right?
I contacted an e-bay seller and he said the v-twin repops can replace every 48-65 pan cylinders. Is that correct?
And what about the heads.
Any help will be very much appreciated.
Thanks!
kitabel
Bikes: 1937 U big flathead, 88" stroker, dual port, big cams, pop-up pistons

Re: correct cylinders and heads for a 53 bottom end

Post by kitabel »

You can use any cylinders and any heads, if you know what you're doing.
What are you doing?
Cotten
Bikes: -

Post by Cotten »

jamilgallo wrote:Need some help folks, i've been visiting this board for quite awhile now but it's my first time writing in.
I'm new to panheads and i'm starting pan project, in fact i'ts a 1953 panhead bottom end.
I need to know what cylinders and heads can be used with this crankcase. I just read on palmer's book about the three styles of cylinders, 48-52, 53-62 and 62-65, basically different oil passage configurations, right?
I contacted an e-bay seller and he said the v-twin repops can replace every 48-65 pan cylinders. Is that correct?
And what about the heads.
Any help will be very much appreciated.
Thanks!
Jamilgallo!

There are perhaps four styles of cylinders, if you include the earlier 61 cubic inch models.
Besides the oil gallery differences, '63 and later had different finnage, although that is not the major concern with Tedd Cycle reproductions, or for a '53.