noisey top end after bike heats up

Top End (cylinders pushrods etc.)
Rain Man
Bikes: 1965 FL, 1983 FLH, 2010 electra glide

noisey top end after bike heats up

Post by Rain Man »

I'm having a problem with my valves clattering after the bike warms up. the engine was rebuilt top to bottom. I ran it about 1000 miles with no apparent problem. it sat for a few months. when I started riding again, the valves would clatter once it warmed up. when it was built it had hydraulics in it. after it started making noise I switched it solids. It made no difference. I've checked the pressure. about 21 lbs. when cold, then as it warms it drops down to about 4. the screen is clean. I pulled the push rod tubes and ran it to see if oil was getting to the top end. It is . Ran 20-50 the first 1000 miles. after this all began I switched to straight 50. no change. I'm running an S&S oil pump, STD cases and STD panheads, with S&S crank and rods. It has me stumped. Any Ideas? Ray
Hauula Pan
Bikes: 1952 FL

Re: noisey top end after bike heats up

Post by Hauula Pan »

Do you know if you have felt in the pan covers or not? Have you re-adjusted your pushrods? and are they steel or aluminum? Unless you're somewhere where its really cold you might want to switch to 60wt. Your oil pressures are normal so I'd be looking for something in the valve train loosening up as the engine warms up. I had issues until I threw my aluminum pushrods into the trash & put a good steel set back in. I also put the thick felt pads in the pan covers, the thin ones didn't do anything to quiet the noise.
Bosheff
Bikes: 65 FLH 82 FLH

Post by Bosheff »

Worn cam followers will cause the condition you mentioned....bosheff
bangkokbob
Bikes: 94FLSTN
63FLH

Post by bangkokbob »

Same as my bike. 3 of my rocker arms have a lot of side float. Put some ear plugs in and ride it.

I'm not going to pull the heads it's going to cost $ and bike runs well.
58flh
Former member