Going to do a leak down test

Forum rules
Please start new topics here: New Panhead and Flathead topics
wayne-o
Inactive member
Bikes: 1964 pan, 1970 honda 100cc, yamaha wr 250f

Going to do a leak down test

Post by wayne-o »

My fornt cylinder is blowing out white smoke out hte pipe so I am going to try a leak down test. Can anyone tell me what kind of air pressure to do this with, and anything else I might need to know? i'm a rookie with motor work. And if i can't find anything there I will try the manifold test, Can I find a tool for the air hook up, to purchace? or can I make one with steel?
steve_wood
Bikes: 56 FLH, 2007 FLHRCI

Re: Going to do a leak down test

Post by steve_wood »

Here's an interesting article.

http://www.motorcycleproject.com/motorc ... kdown.html" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

But it might be a whole lot easy to head down to the autoparts store and just buy one.
socalrider
Bikes: 1963 pankenstein ; 1965 flh ; 1978 shovelhead lowrider

Post by socalrider »

check your head bolts . make sure they are torqued down
buena suerte,
arnulfo
Dave_R
Bikes: 1953 FLE Panhead
1960 FLH Panhead
1979 FXE Shovel
2001 Heritage "Twinkie"

Post by Dave_R »

Whenever mine blew out white smoke it usually indicated a blown head gasket (by the oil passage to the top end).

They are not hard to change.

Use the blue teflon gaskets, not the black paper ones, and definately stay away from the "fire-ring" ones. If you have the "fire ring" gaskets already, then you must use them again, since they probably left thier impression in the heads already.
wayne-o
Inactive member

Post by wayne-o »

All the head gaskets Ive seen blown you could hear them right away. I will check it though. I still need to know what air pressure to do the leak down test with. Is it the same as what compression should be?
steve_wood

Post by steve_wood »

You can use fairly low pressure. 15 lbs should do it.
pan620
Bikes: 62 Duoglide, 48 Pan, 1990 FLHTCU

Post by pan620 »