Mikuni carb tuning

Forum rules
Please start new topics here: New Panhead and Flathead topics
63panhead
Bikes: 63 FLH
82 FLH

Mikuni carb tuning

Post by 63panhead »

It looks like only a couple of guys here are running the Mikuni from the poll. I'm one of them. I 'm looking for some advice. I have a brand new Mikuni VM38 installed. It has a 30 pilot jet and 350 (maybe 360) main jet. The motor is a stock 63 pan with 40" shotgun drag pipes. The bike starts and runs but after a few seconds starts to pop, and miss. The air screw needs to be almost all the way which I believe tells me that I need a larger pilot jet. I haven't gotten far enough to evaluate the main jet. I am interested to know what jets anybody with a similar set up is running so I can use that as a starting point.
I am still pretty new to this bike and panheads. I had it at a shop for some other work. They "tuned it up" for me. Big mistake. I'll start another thread aout the electrical. Anyway, they did the tuning with the choke on. So I'm starting over from scratch.

Thamks for any and all replies.
DanM
Former member
Bikes: 1913 HD single, 1926 HD JD, 1964 HD FL, 1994 Honda CT70

Re: Mikuni carb tuning

Post by DanM »

Check out Victorylibrary.com- he has a booklet on tuning the Mikuni. I had one when I ran one on my 45 and it was very good. Here's the add from his site:
Mikuni Tuning for Harley-Davidsons for the Mikuni round-slide VM type carburetor. Want more performance from your Harley-Davidson Knucklehead, Panhead, 45, or U-Series? Already have a Mikuni carburetor, but don't know how to adjust it? Doesn't run "right" and won't respond to the changes you've made? Can't make any sense of the original Japanese "instructions"? Looking for an affordable alternative to replacing or rebuilding your tired Linkert? This booklet will help you! Click the cover for a complete list of contents.

Dan
mbskeam
Bikes: *

Post by mbskeam »

hello

on my carb a VM 38 stock was:
main jet #330 now #280