1951 Panhead

Rebuild the drums or put a disc brake system on it?

Forum rules
Please do not start new topics here, but here: New Panhead and Flathead topics
406Pan
Inactive member
Bikes: 1951 Harley-Davidson Panhead

1951 Panhead

Post by 406Pan »

Hey everybody! First off I'll say that I am new to the Panhead community. I just inherited my fathers 1951 Pan. I will also be the first to admit that I really have knowledge of Panheads. Which is why I joined this site in hopes of gaining some knowledge. I know little about my Pan other than the fact that it has an 86 inch stroker motor in it, a Wide-Glide front end and a stock rigid cradle frame. It's been sitting for around ten years and I'm looking to get her back up and running. My dad was saying the brakes suck! What's the best thing to do? Rebuild the drums or put a disc brake system on it? That's where I'd like to start. Thanks everyone
kitabel
Bikes: 1937 U big flathead, 88" stroker, dual port, big cams, pop-up pistons

Re: 1951 Panhead

Post by kitabel »

There are no good H-D front drum brakes, even when new. Any factory disc is a big help, but they ruin the original appearance. The original rear drum works OK if it's in good shape, but only because the rear brake doesn't do much.
My choice is a much better (but foreign) front drum brake.

More motor details?
58flh
Former member
Bikes: 1958flh 1969sporty,had a knuckle but sold back to original owner

Post by 58flh »