Head cracks: this may be a Cotten question...

joe G

Head cracks: this may be a Cotten question...

Post by joe G »

List,

During my quest for heads and cases, I didn't take long to realize that a lot of heads have a crack from the spark plug hole to the valve seat and a lot of cases have cracks from the cam hole to the pinion race, but why?

Are these seemingly common failure modes a result of abuse, poor engine rebuild practices, or just what you get when a moderately stressed porous casting goes through a zillion thermal cycles?

Just wondering.

Joe
Cotten
Bikes: -

Post by Cotten »

Joe!

I'm a carb and manifold student, but I will give you my opinion on the cracks anyway.

First: The head cracks:
Heat is always the culprit, but there's always more than one way to light the fuse.

Prevent cracks by preventing advanced timing, vacuum leaks, pre-ignition, vacuum leaks, low octane fuel, vacuum leaks, lean mixture, and vacuum leaks.

If the compression was 10:1 to begin with, then they appear easily.
Especially if the headgasket surface was not dressed, the headbolts were "grunted", or the manifold "felt tight".

But, dismissing all-too-common instances of cheater-bars on the sparkplugs, miss-fitted pistons, dirt and grunge left over from previous service, and all of the other obviously avoidable complications, the quickest and easiest way to make heat is a vacuum leak.

A sloppy kick at closing time where a knee hits the aircleaner can crack a head. Think about it.

On to the cam-to-main cracks:

Tappet rollers became much-shorter-lived units when they introduced the "needle" version, at the same time as the Pan head. They became a fuse upon the camchest ,as well as the fuse upon many lower case detonations.