63 valve seat

badran33
Bikes: 68 early shovel

63 valve seat

Post by badran33 »

Hello Guys,
as has passed so much from my presentation to this my first post first of all i'd like to reintrodce myself:
my name is Guerrino, i lived in North Italy in a little place in the adriatic cost, i'm 40 years old. i work in the business of civil construction but the few free hours that i can have are divided between my son Mattia (4 year old) and the garage where ai i like to wrench on old motorcycles,preferably harleys.
After a 3 years complete restoration of a shovel Electra Glide (75) now i've purchased a 63 panhead engine that will go in a rigid frame for a chopper project.
in the photoes you can see what i've found in one head. it looks like both of the seats had been removed in a drastic way and the boards even excavated in try of removed the inner bronze insert.
my question is what to do now: have i to go on in this way trying to remove the insert (how long is "inside" this insert??)than weld to report at a factory size and put a new seat or enlarge the seats and use a bigger one? in the othre head the previous owner removed the seats too but with no damage.
thanks in advice for all the suggestions.
G.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Cotten
Bikes: -

Re: 63 valve seat

Post by Cotten »

Welcome back, Guerrino!

It appears somebody got ahead of themself, not realizing that the cast-in bronze inserts have tangs that extend well into the casting itself.
Occasionally they can even be exposed by over-porting the intake tract, or undue press when installing fresh inserts.
SEATBORE.jpg
I also see welding that may not be of an advantage to you.

The risky fad of hardened inserts has faded, and there are rumors of bronze inserts now being produced. I have been out of motorwork too long to have chased any down: Perhaps Kibblewhite.
OEM bronze inserts still exist,
panseats.jpg