New to panheads....help please

bigtim1985
Inactive member
Bikes: 1963 pan

New to panheads....help please

Post by bigtim1985 »

this is my first "old" bike so im very new to this but im very mechanical. i just bought a 1963 flh pan project. it has the original linkert carb on it but there is no throttle cable and i cant figure out where/what holds the cable to the frame near the carb. i found this picture on this forum of a 64. should i have this tab on my frame?

any help would be great. also does the 63 have split handle bars or are they one piece? thanks for the help. -tim
panhead_kicker
Bikes: Pan
FLHP Evo
E-H Super X
Chubble head hack
Servi-car
Topper(s)
Model 64D (Hey its got 3 wheels!)

Re: New to panheads....help please

Post by panhead_kicker »

Hi Tim,
Yes your 63 should have that tab. Another small pinch clamp holds the throttle cable in place there, although it's not seen in the pic. And yes you should have two piece bars, each with internal controls.
bigtim1985
Inactive member

Post by bigtim1985 »

thankyou. i figured that someone had cut the tab off. i have another question. i have all new hard oil lines for the engine. everything fits but the real short line from the back of the filter to the oil tank. the fitting for the oil tank requires a flared line, but the line i have both ends arent flared(they have a black rubber seal in them) am i doing something wrong? thanks -tim
RUBONE
Bikes: Multiple H-D, Ducati, BMW, Triumph, BSA,...

Post by RUBONE »

the fitting for the oil tank requires a flared line, but the line i have both ends arent flared(they have a black rubber seal in them) am i doing something wrong? thanks -tim
Tim,
You are missing a fitting that adapts the flare to the compression fitting. I'll dig one out and post a pic.
Robbie
58Tin
Bikes: 1958 Panhead
2005 Road King

Post by 58Tin »

Hey Tim-There is a fitting to adapt from the flare fitting on the oil tank to the straight line from the filter.Part # 63524-50
bigtim1985