HANDLBARS FOR 50 FL USING TURN SIGNAL SWITCH (DH-50)

FLHMAN880
Bikes: 50 FL

HANDLBARS FOR 50 FL USING TURN SIGNAL SWITCH (DH-50)

Post by FLHMAN880 »

I HAVE BEEN RESTORING 50 FL FOR 6 YEARS NOW. I AM GOING TO ORDER A SET OF 49-50 HANDLEBARS FROM TOM FABER. I HAVE A DH-50 SWITCH AND THE CORRECT GUIDE BULLETS AND THE TURN SIGNAL INDICATOR LIGHT FOR TOP OF RISER CLAMP. THE TURN SIGNAL SWITCH HAS THROUGH THE BAR WIRING. A FEW PEOPLE HAVE TOLD ME THAT THEY THINK THAT THE HARLEY TURN SIGNAL KIT THAT CAME OUT IN 1950. (HAS A 50- PART NUMBER) WAS EXTERNAL WIRING. THE DH-50 SWITCH THAT I HAVE IS FOR INTERNAL WIRING. I TEND TO DISAGREE THOSE "PEOPLE", BUT I AM NOT SURE. I WANT TO ORDER THE BARS, BUT DONT KNOW IF THEY HAVE TO BE DRILLED AND TAPPED FOR THE SWITCH OR NOT. I ONLY WANT TO DO IT ONE TIME AND NOT HAVE TO DRILL/TAP/ MODIFY AFTER THE FACT. CAN ANYONE ENLIGHTEN ME ABOUT THIS WHOLE TURN SIGNAL KIT/ HANDLEBAR SET-UP? THANKYOU, GEORGE
cdndewey
Bikes: 42 WLC, 47 EL, 53 FLE, 62 FL, 78 FLH

Re: HANDLBARS FOR 50 FL USING TURN SIGNAL SWITCH (DH-50)

Post by cdndewey »

I believe they were external. The signal lamp kit was a dealer installed accessory that could be put on anytime, so they're not about to be ripping anything out of the handlebars to drill and tap new holes, and then reassemble everything again.
FLHMAN880

Post by FLHMAN880 »

[quote="cdndewey"]I believe they were external. The signal lamp kit was a dealer installed accessory that could be put on anytime, so they're not about to be ripping anything out of the handlebars to drill and tap new holes, and then reassemble everything again.[/quote THANKS FOR REPLY. LIKE I SAID, THE CORRECT SWITCH FOR THAT DEALER INSTALLED ACCESSORY IS A DH-50. THAT SWITCH HAS INTERNAL WIRING. I HAVE ONE. STILL UNSURE, HOW ABOUT YOU COTTEN?
RUBONE
Bikes: Multiple H-D, Ducati, BMW, Triumph, BSA,...

Post by RUBONE »

You are aware that DH50 switch housings appear in both internal and external styles, right?
Robbie
RUBONE