Slipping clutch

fourthgear
Inactive member
Bikes: -

Slipping clutch

Post by fourthgear »

I had a good one last month , My clutch started slipping when riding two up , I only felt it in fourth of course . Well I disassembled every thing of course for inspection ( belt drive )and this is what I found; Note : this is the first belt drive I have ever had , so I'm a rookie , so to speak.

1- hair like coating on inner primary and outer cover from belt , thats when I found the tranny mount plate loose . I think I did not remove powder coat from the bottom of the front mounting holes on the frame . I had castellated nuts with cotter pins, I now have split ring lock washers and nyloc nuts. It was enough to let the tranny move back and forth to eat up the belt a little.BDL kit came with a spare , belt seems to be still serviceable

# 2- The sprocket shaft (tapered shaft )nut was not @ 80 ft.pounds as I torqued it down upon assembly, I did not need to use any thing to hold the drive to loosen it , it was lok tight-ed upon assem. , this I find perplexing , can the belt hub loosen or should you torque it down then loosen and re-torque ?The nut was not loose ,but no way was it torqued much . I changed from the stock nut , eliminated the large washer and used the large nut that came with the kit . Just eliminating that washer , gained a deeper seating nut , more threads in the nut. The stock one did have less threads in it and maybe help, don't ask me why I did not use the big nut first. I thought you had to use that big washer and when using it with the big nut , it only was hold on by a thread or two. Like I have said , first timer bone head mistake .

# 3- The clutch assem , I have the big fix type clutch with 52 long rollers,the grease that came with the kit was gone and of course migrated on to the bottom friction plate and I believe is what caused my slipping problem.