Transmissions gaskets and sealant?

BastardBoy
Bikes: 1952 PanHead with 1948 Frame

Transmissions gaskets and sealant?

Post by BastardBoy »

Hi all,

I am doing a complete rebuild of my 1952 panhead transmission. I getting ready to put her back together and am seeking recommendations on how to seal her tight. Gaskets only? Gaskets and sealant? What type of sealant?
Any advice would be appreciated!

Thanks
BastardBoy
62wild1
Bikes: 1962 panhead, 1999 Wideglide, 2008 Ultra Classic and a few other brands.

Re: Transmissions gaskets and sealant?

Post by 62wild1 »

I'm no expert but on my kicker cover gasket I sprayed both sides of my gasket with Permatex High Tack Spray a Gasket Sealant then followed the directions and so far no leaks.

You may want to wait for other replies as I am new to these bikes.
Bosheff
Bikes: 65 FLH 82 FLH

Post by Bosheff »

If you have two reasonably true surfaces, I would suggest using Anti-Sieze. You don't have to scrape it when you remove the cover, and many times you can recoat the gasket, and get away with using it again. The Anti-Sieze will swell the gasket, therefore compensating for flaws and imperfections, and the best part it does not stick. Also works well on thermostat housing gaskets. I hate scraping gaskets.
Hauula Pan
Bikes: 1952 FL

Post by Hauula Pan »