Convert to foot shift

Donny2guns
Inactive member
Bikes: 2002 Rk Standard
1972 Ironhead Bobber

Convert to foot shift

Post by Donny2guns »

Hey all. My name is Russ and I own a 2002 HD RK, and a 72 IH bobber I just finished building. I have always wanted to buy a pan but the money thing always got in the way. Well I finally came into a situation where I could get a 52 Fl. Only thing I dont like about it is that it has a tank shift. My question is what would I need to do to convert this to foot shift? Mousetrap kit from JP? Do I need to buy a ratchet top tranny? Let me know guys thanks Russ
Cotten
Bikes: -

Re: Newbie here with first question

Post by Cotten »

Welcome Russ!

To start with, you would need an entirely different transmission 'lid', and perhaps a switch of the mainshaft cluster gear and third gear as well, besides all of the foot and hand hardware and linkages. And the priceless left gastank would no longer be appropriate.

You would be spending a lot of money just to depreciate the machine a lot more in the long run, particularly if the machine is anywhere near "stock".

You may not like the 'handshaker' now, but you would most likely come to love it. (IF you are into the charm, romance, and adventure of antique motorcycles, that is.)

.....Cotten
steve_wood
Bikes: 56 FLH, 2007 FLHRCI

Post by steve_wood »

Russ:

I waited a long time to find the right machine for me (56 FLH). The ONLY thing I wish it had was the tank shift.

Cotten is right. The hand shift (and the left tank) are priceless. I'm sure you can learn it!

PS: With a hand shift, you have a built in excuse for NOT letting people ride it. Unless they also own an old bike, in which case you can probably trust them.

steve
john HD
Bikes: '42 WLA X 2, '55FL, '93 Ultra Classic, '91 Fatboy, '97 883, '03 Rokon Trailbreaker, '83 GPz 750.

Post by john HD »

welcome aboard russ!

i have a foot shift '55 FL and i would not have given it a second thought if it had come with a handshifter.