One cylinder firing

jd222
Inactive member

One cylinder firing

Post by jd222 »

After a winter of work on my 59 FLH (thanks for the advice over that time) I started it last night for the first time, no front cylinder fire although pushing plenty of air out the pipe. I was so tired I just quit for the night, but will check spark when I get home from work tonight. I did install a repop (cheapo) originaol style coil, which I guess might be bad, but I'll check today. I had the pushrods out this Winter to replace the oil pump, so I guess this might be the problem if I'm not getting fuel/air to the cylinder, right? I'm no ace mechanic, so any diagnostic advice/troubleshooting you can lend would be helpful, as I'm anxious to get this project on the road after a long winter of work and it was a struggle. I was bummed when it started (hard) and only the rear cylinder fired, but I was so beat I just couldn't do anymore last night. I hop[e it's as simple as the spark, as I really don't know enough about adjusting the pushrods although I can learn.
One thing I did notice was that oil was pissing out the primary case nipple- was this just because it had sat and a lot of oil has settled there, or is there some way to stop this oil from dripping everywhere..or will it stop once the bike is run refglulary? The bike ran before I started on it in November, and it didn't pee oil like it's peeing oil now. I don't have a drain tube connected, although I will if this will help. Right now I left an oil trail dowm my driveway and street when I did ride it fo 2 minutes (one cylinder-not fun).
Any advice would be great as to what I should do to figure out why the front cylinder is not firing.

Thanks
Joel
fourthgear
Inactive member
Bikes: -

Re: One cylinder firing

Post by fourthgear »

jdc22